Farewell February

The last week and a bit of February have flown by; after the fundraising party I gave myself a day off and then completed my long run of 16 miles (still 10 miles short of the main event!!)

From Thursday I then spent a few days house/cat sitting for someone who lives round the corner from where I work so rather than the 60-90 minute commute it was a 3 minute walk! It was LUSH!! I spent the extra 6 hours I gained in those three days either sleeping, reading, watching the curling! Or running! I ran before work, after work or both and it was lovely. I ignored the plan and just ran for the love of it, discovering a new city and loving the peace of coming back to an empty house where I could do what I wanted and most of the time it was nothing!

I ran a total of 40 miles this week my biggest week yet and I felt so good and positive.

Sunday was the day of the ZUMBATHON!! The final fundraising flurry… my mum had organised the whole thing and we had decided to make cakes to sell with tea / coffee, she sold 45 tickets and I spent Sunday morning making cookies, flapjacks and millionaire shortbread! Mum also made chocolate Easter cakes and lemon cupcakes! Yum!

 

Well the event was fab, everyone had such a good time and we sold nearly all the cakes! We made a total of £461.99 which brings my total fundraising amount to around £3500! YAY!!

 My long run planned for Monday until I woke up feeling unwell so spent the day doing NOTHING!

 Tuesday I had to go! I got up… had my porridge and banana two hours before, packed my jelly babies and gels, planned a route to pick up a water and headed out! I’m getting good at this planning stuff!

18 miles later 18 MILES! I finally feel that I could do it; if I HAD to run the marathon tomorrow I COULD do it! AHHHH!!

Straight after my long run I drove to my firsts sports massage; wow, it’s not hot stone massage is it, it hurt! But hopefully has done me some good; although my legs and back ache today!

I had calculated that I was 10 miles short of 100 miles this month and knowing I should allow myself today to rest I admitted defeat. Checking it on Strava earlier it was only 4 miles short! AHHH! I could’ve done that! First world problems, if only I had checked before I got to work!

Bring on March! My plan demands more miles, longer runs and time to get back to that training plan and start threshold training again, thinking about that goal!

 OO but my new sports bra arrived today and I’m excited to try it out!!

Author: TheGingerrunner

28 year old taking on the London Marathon. I live in Somerset with my boyfriend and our dog 🐶!

Leave a comment